Luminar 4.3 – Catalog does not store edits!!!

I spent quite a few hours trying to figure out how to integrate the Luminar backup with my existing setup and found some very interesting issues.

Since Luminar does not use sidecar files, I have to transfer the Luminar catalog to my other system. No, it does not stop there…I have to copy the Luminar catalog along with the History folder.

There is some major issue here since Luminar is not storing the edits in the catalog!!!

You cannot simply copy the catalog. In fact, if I delete the History folder on a working system, all edits are lost!

Unless you backup the catalog from Luminar and restore it using Luminar, all edits are lost.

There is no way out it seems since Luminar refuses to restore from any file in its Backup folder. In short, unless you manually create a catalog backup from Luminar, you will lose your edits!

Let’s see what happens and how you can backup the catalog…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s